Baked Egg Casserole

Mornings are insanely busy at our house, like they are for most people. How I long to be able to relax over a cup of tea and a good breakfast and take my time starting my day. But with a toddler to get going and a long commute into the city for work, that’s just not going to happen. I don’t even have time to sit down to eat in the morning; getting my son his bit of breakfast is all we’ve got time for. Unless I want to wake up at four in the morning, which I absolutely do not. I usually eat breakfast once I get to work and am tethered to my desk for the day. While the occasional doughnut makes an appearance, and I’ll choke down instant oatmeal if I’m forced to, I really like a hot substantial breakfast. But eggs and bacon and all the trimmings are out – they don’t reheat all that well and would be a pain to make up and pack enough of for a few days at a time.

Fortunately, there is an a solution to the problem. Casserole. Yep – a breakfast casserole. Easy to make, easy to portion as well as filling and tasty. Now there are a lot of breakfast casserole dishes on the internet, and I’ve tried a few and mostly found them wanting. It’s a great concept, but with a dish so simple – eggs, potato and meat – it’s easy to mess it up. A lot of them call for hash browns, which just end up turning mushy and insipid. And some of them don’t call for precooking the meat, which makes me skeevy in addition to the simple logistics of well-cooked meat paired with overdone everything else. They’re just nothing to write home about.

So I took the concept and tweaked it a bit. I precook the meat. And I swap out the flaccid hash browns for more substantial tater tots, which I brown first in the oven. It’s a winning combination, as you can see –

Breakfast Casserole

The meat is perfectly cooked. The tater tots are golden brown and substantial. And the eggs are light and fluffy. Thirty to forty minutes in the oven, and you’ve got a delicious complete breakfast for a few days. And it’s so easy to throw together. You’ll need the following –

half a package of tater tots

1 tube of breakfast sausage

6 eggs, beaten with a 1/4 cup of water and salt and pepper to taste

vegetable cooking spray

1. Start off by cooking your tater tots in the oven according to package directions.

2. While the tater tots are baking, precook the sausage thoroughly in a skillet. Set aside to drain on paper towels while the tater tots finish.

3. Once the tater tots are done, layer your ingredients in a 9×9 baking dish – sausage on the bottom, and tater tots on the top. Pour the egg mixture evenly over the entire dish.

4. Bake for 30-35 minutes until the egg is set and a knife inserted into the center comes out clean.

And that’s it – enjoy!

 

