Radio Silence…

I’ve been MIA for a good reason lately. We’re moving into our own place again! The foray into residing with relatives is drawing to a close – on Thursday we’re packing it all into a truck and moving back into our own place. Not a house quite yet, but a spacious, newly renovated apartment. It’s a beauty. It’s back in Elk Grove Village, the suburb where we first landed and took a real liking to. It’s got two big bedrooms, the master with a nice walk in closet. It’s got good lighting. Brand new cream carpeting throughout, with new tile in the kitchen and bathroom. All new fixtures in the bathroom and kitchen, as well as brand new appliances, including a dishwasher and microwave. I don’t go in for microwaves all that much, but the dishwasher will be amazing to have. It’s got an eat in kitchen, plus a small dining “area” just off the main living room, but we’re going to use that as an office area since it also functions as the main thoroughfare to get to the bedrooms. The kitchen has a pantry, so I can’t wait to get on top of getting it organized – I’ve got to keep my eyes peeled for some more bulk storage bins.

This apartment is the biggest one we’ve lived in to date – it’s about 900 square feet. Our last place was a little over 700 square feet, so I’m excited about all of the space we’re going to have. It’ll seem a bit smaller after we get all of our stuff in, I’m sure, but it’s still a ton of space. There’s only one big drawback to this apartment – there’s no private outdoor space. No balcony or patio where we can hang out. I will certainly miss it, but there’s a big green area where the kiddo can run around, and a nice playground within walking distance. And I’m certainly experienced with indoor gardening after my Apartment Farm days. So we’ll make it work.

As soon as we’re settled there’s a lot to talk about – almost time to get some seeds planted, and there are a ton of new food projects on the horizon. Wish us luck!

